Louisiana Teen-age Librarians Association 2017-18 State Convention • Sai Convention Center February 25-26, 2018

Convention Minutes from the 2017-2018 LTLA Convention

• Thirteen (13) clubs registered and over 290 members attended the convention.

I. <u>First General Session</u>

- Each school and all officers were welcomed and announced using the Superhero theme.
- The session was presided over by Lora Lathrop on February 25 at 4:00 p.m.
- The Parliamentarian Gabi Mire went over convention rules, and the historian, reporter and secretary gave remarks.
- Head table introductions were given.
- LLA President, Ms. Patricia Brown and Ms. Susan Gauthier, LASL President, brought greetings.
- Joy Sutton, Treasurer, presented a \$50 donation to the LLA Scholarship Fund.
- Lora Lathrop asked all committee chairs were asked to come to the front for recognition.

II. Sunday Evening

- The Highs and Lows from Alexandria Senior High sang for entertainment at 4:30 pm.
- Book discussion for the junior and senior division was conducted at 5:00 by West Feliciana Middle and DeQuincy High Schools.
- The drawing contest was held at 5:00 by Bishop Noland Episcopal Day School.
- The costume contest was conducted at 7:30 by Edgar Martin Middle School.
- The Scholastic Book Sale was open and manned by volunteers from Bishop Noland Episcopal Day School.
- The dance and dance contests were held from 9:00 to 11:30 pm, hosted by Central Private School.
- Social games were held in a room beside the dance hall hosted by Lacassine High School.

III. <u>Monday Morning</u>

- Officers, contest committee chairs, and voting delegates met for the 3rd Executive Board meeting which was called to order at 9:00 am.
- The voting delegates voted on the drawing contest entries after the executive board meeting.
- Contest Chairs were reminded to give results to Mrs. Martin, keep a copy for yourself to announce winners, and to keep results secret; sit with your school during the luncheon, go to the podium when it is time to deliver contest results, begin with 3rd place & work up to 1st place, and Mrs. Knight, 2018-19 SRC Chair, will assist with distributing the awards.
- It was moved and seconded that LTLA tip the convention center contact, Mr. George, \$50motion passed.
- Mrs. Martin, SRC Chair, asked Voting Delegates to remain in the room to approve officers and vote for drawing contest; the chairs for the Drawing Contest also need to stay for the results.
- The meeting was adjourned at 9:30 am.
- The Talent Show was held at 9:30 am and sponsored by Lacassine High.

IV. Second General Session

- Session was called to order by Lora Lathrop on February 26 at 10:05 am.
- The Officer Induction ceremony was conducted by students from West Feliciana Middle.

V. Pre-Luncheon

- Author Jennifer Brown signed books at 10:45 am.
- Junior high and high school members separated and attended two thirty-minute workshops starting at 11:00.
- The sponsors attended their annual Sponsors' Meeting.
- The first workshop was led by Mrs. Angela Germany from the State Library about next year's LYRC and LTRC titles.
- The second workshop was supervised by Ms. Karla Kirby and Ms. Tammy DiBartolo from the Rapides Parish Library.

VI. Third General Session/Author & Awards Lunch

- Session was called to order by Lora Lathrop at 12:15
- Before the meal, Mrs. Angela Germany brought special greetings from the State Library.
- Guest author Jennifer Brown was introduced by VP Allyson Adams. Ms. Brown was a very engaging and inspiring speaker!

Bookmark, Jr.	Bookmark, Sr.	
1st-West Feliciana MS	1st-Maurepas HS	
2nd-Bishop Noland EDS	2nd-Central PSS	
3rd-Central PS	3rd-Hathaway HS	
Bulletin Board, Jr.	Bulletin Board, Sr.	
1 st -West Feliciana MS	1 st -Hathaway HS	
2 nd -Bishop Noland EDS	2 nd -DeQuincy HS	
3 rd -Edgar Martin MS	3 rd -Welsh HS	
Costume, Jr. (Ind.)	Costume, Sr. (Ind.)	
1 st -Zacc Landry-Central PS	1 st -Colby Augustine-Hathaway HS	
2 nd -Owen Daigle-Bishop Noland EDS	2 nd -Darisabel Charpentier-Hathaway HS	
3 rd -Annie Hachtel-Bishop Noland EDS	3 rd -Skylar Henry-Hathaway HS	
Costume, Jr. (Group)	Costume, Sr. (Group)	
1st-Central PS	1 st -Group-Hathaway HS	
2 nd -West Feliciana MS	2 nd -Group-DeQuincy HS	
3 rd -West Feliciana MS	3 rd -Group-Hathaway HS	
Dance, Jr. (Ind.)	Dance, Sr. (Ind.)	
1st-Ethan Vincent-Bishop Noland EDS	1 st -Devin Ferguson-West Feliciana HS	
2 nd -Grant Rome-West Feliciana MS	2 nd -Claire Smith-DeQuincy HS	
3 rd -Alecia Celestine-Edgar Martin MS	3 rd -Dionte Tate-West Feliciana HS	

2017-2018 LTLA Convention Awards

Dance, Jr. (Group)	Dance, Sr. (Group)	
1st-Edgar Martin MS	1st-West Feliciana HS	
2 nd -Central PS	2 nd -Lacassine HS	
3 rd -West Feliciana MS	3 rd -Zachary HS	
Drawing, Jr.	Drawing, Sr .	
1st-Edgar Martin MS	1st-Zachary HS	
2 nd -West Feliciana MS	2 nd -Hathaway HS	
3 rd -Bishop Noland EDS	3 rd -Lacassine HS	
Scrapbook, Jr. 1st-Digital-Bishop Noland EDS 1st-Print-West Feliciana MS 2 nd -Edgar Martin MS	Scrapbook, Sr. 1st-Digital-Hathaway HS 2 nd -Digital-Zachary HS 3 rd -Digital-Welsh HS 1st-Print-Hathaway HS 2 nd -Print-Welsh HS 3 rd -Print-Zachary HS	
T-Shirt, Jr.	T-Shirt, Sr.	
1st-Edgar Martin MS	1st-Lacassine HS	
2 nd -West Feliciana MS	2 nd -Hathaway HS	
3 rd -Bishop Noland EDS	3 rd -Zachary HS	
Wes Smith, Jr.	Wes Smith, Sr.	
1st-April Alleman-Edgar Martin MS	1st-Macey Guidry-Lacassine HS	
2 nd -Annie Hachtel-Bishop Noland EDS	2 nd -Ashlynn Picue-Maurepas HS	
3 rd -Devarre Dyson-West Feliciana MS	3 rd -Ashlynn Elliott-Lacassine HS	
Spirit Award	Spirit Award	
1 st -West Feliciana MS	1 st -Lacassine HS	
2 nd -Edgar Martin MS	2 nd -Hathaway HS	
3 rd -Bishop Noland EDS	3 rd -Zachary HS	

Mrs. Renee Martin, current SRC chair, announced the winners of the coveted LTLA Spirit • Awards:

JUNIOR DIVISION

- 1st place West Feliciana Middle School
 2nd place Edgar Martin Middle School
 3rd place Bishop Noland Episcopal Day School

SENIOR DIVISION

- Lacassine High School
- 2nd place Hathaway High School 3rd place Zachary High School •
- •
- Mrs. Martin recognized all senior LTLA members and their years of membership, and students • received a graduation cord from their sponsor.
- Outgoing officers were thanked, and they handed the new officers their LTLA Handbook • binders.

• The new officers are:

LTLA Office	Student	School	Sponsor
President	Summer Knight	West Feliciana HS	Jennifer Jacobs
Vice President	Natalie Clemmons	Lacassine HS	Charla Arabie
Secretary	Crissy Thomas	DeQuincy HS	Adri Leblanc
Treasurer	Joy Sutton	Zachary High	Christina Knight
Reporter	Macey Walker	West Feliciana MS	Janet Lathrop
Historian	Mary-Hannah Varnado	Central Private School	Renee Martin
Parliamentarian	Addison Kay	Episcopal Day School	Paula Clemmons

• Christina Knight was announced as next year's Student Relations Chair.

• 2017-18 LTLA State Convention was adjourned by incoming President Summer Knight at 1:45 pm.

10/11/18